A Different Kind Of Truth

Release Date: February 7, 2012
Recorded: November 2010 – August 2011 at 5150 and Henson Recording Studios, Hollywood, Los Angeles, California
Length: 49:58 DVD: 16:11
Producer: Van Halen, John Shanks

CD Track listing:

(Click Song Titles for Lyrics)

DVD Track Listing: (The Downtown Sessions)

1. Panama (Acoustic 2012, Originally From 1984)
2. You and Your Blues (Intro)
3. You and Your Blues (Acoustic 2012)
4. Beautiful Girls (Acoustic 2012, Originally From Van Halen II)


COOL VIDEO: http://www.vhnd.com/2012/05/17/video-vans-halens-a-different-kind-of-truth-lp-vinyl-pressing/


Van Halen’s first album since 1998—and the first since 1984 with original singer David Lee Roth—redelivers a band that still outrocks the competition. Former bassist Michael Anthony is missed for his backing harmonies, but Eddie Van Halen’s son Wolfgang sufficiently holds down the bottom end. The mix is drier than vintage Van Halen, but Eddie still rips heavy riffs (“China Town,” “Big River”), and Roth sounds glad to have his old job back. “She’s the Woman” is one of several tunes written for the band’s ’70s demos that scored their record contract. “Bullethead,” “Outta Space,” and “As Is” keep up the momentum, with Roth back to being a self-mocking hard rock singer out for a good time. Eddie warps some classic riffs and tones for “Honeybabysweetiedoll” and “The Trouble With Never.” Overall, it’s three steps in the right direction and far better a reunion than those of other bands of Van Halen’s vintage. The deluxe version includes The Downtown Sessions, videos of acoustic performances of “Panama,” “Beautiful Girls,” and “You and Your Blues.”

A Different Kind of Truth (Deluxe Version) - Van Halen