LL Cool J’s AUTHENTIC Released Today: Listen to Both Songs With Eddie Van Halen Here


LL Cool J’s new album AUTHENTIC is released today. Eddie Van Halen guests on two tracks, which can be listened to below.

“We’re The Greatest” features Eddie Van Halen on guitar, who LL himself heralds as “one of the greatest guitar players that ever lived.” Travis Barker plays drums on the track.

“It’s not necessarily about me and Eddie, per se,” LL told Radio.com of the new track. “It’s about people that kinda get tossed aside, forgotten about, kicked down, and then they make a comeback in life and they regain that ground that they had lost, and then some.”

Listen to “We’re The Greatest” below. Check out Eddie’s Guitar solo starting at 2:48!

Eddie Van Halen contributes a tasty guitar solo on “Not Leaving Here Tonight” featuring Fitz & the Tantrums. (Solo starts at 2:52).

The  album could just as easily be called “LL Cool J and Friends,” given how many guests he has stop by. There seems to be a conscious effort to expand the fan base with an eclectic bunch of guests, including Fitz and the Tantrums, Travis Barker, Snoop, Tom Morello, Bootsy Collins, Seal and Charlie Wilson. The result is a mixed bag of party anthems and the rap ballads he pioneered years ago.

Eddie and LL Cool J will be interviewed on CNN Friday May 3rd.